Since March 18th, 2020 all museums & parks of Peterhof will be closed till further notice. Keep updated with Peterhof  FacebookInstagram.

!
Рус
Рус

Bathhouse block, 1865-1866, architect E.L. Gan

Suds bath, 1800, architect D.Quarenghi, 1866, architect E. L. Gan

Assembly Hall, 1726-1732, architect M. Zemtsov, 1747, architect F.B. Rastrelli

Tablecloth pantry, Kitchen, Coffee Pantry, 1748-1750, architect F.B. Rastrelli

The museum is located on the territory of Monplaisir ensemble, it is a complex of buildings of ceremonial and domestic purposes, built at different times on the Eastern side of Monplaisir garden. The earliest construction related to Peter's time, is the Guest quarters or "the Quarters for the family", adjacent to the building of "Monplaisir". The guest quarters accommodated relatives and close friends of the emperor. Here you can view one of the rooms, designated for the tsar's guests, as well as to get acquainted with Peter's special "Points about Peterhof" - the rules that visitors had to follow.

There is a suds bath for the cavaliers adjacent to the guest quarters. It is located on the site of the first wooden bathhouse, built for Peter I. The records of the daily logbooks inform that, the tsar not only bathed in the Monplaisir bathhouse, but also held traditional medical manipulations, such as: taking medicine from crushed woodlice and worms, "let blood out". Inside the suds bath, there is a water surprise awaiting for the visitors, that they will be able to see in action.

The stone building of the bathhouse block was constructed in the second half of the XIX century, for the spouse of the emperor Alexander II, Maria Alexandrovna. The empress, who suffered from her lung diseases, took different procedures of hydrotherapy system, fashionable at that time in Europe. The Bathhouse block includes a Steam room - the traditional sweating room with the stove-heater, where instead of the stones, there is a pyramid of iron nucleuses. Next to the steam room, there is premises where the empress took warm baths and baths with concoctions of medicinal herbs. For cold water treatments there was a separate hall designated - the Cold bath, with an interesting exhibit of shower, disguised as an elegant chandelier from bronze and glass, decorated with bunches of grapes and flowers of bindweed.

Near the Bathhouse block, on the shore of the Gulf of Finland, a miniature landscape garden was laid out for the empress, later called the "Chinese Garden". The paths winding between the flowerbeds, meandering stream with thrown over hunchbacked bridges, marble statues, the small cascade and fountains - the most recent in the Lower Park by the time of their creation - are located on the small area of the garden. On the south side, the Bathhouse block is adjoined to a complex of buildings, consisting of the Grand Assembly Hall, the Tablecloth pantry, the Kitchen and the Coffee Pantry.

The Assembly Hall was named in the memory of the famous Peter's assemblies. Built on the site of Peter's Cooking chambers by the architect F. B. Rastrelli, it was intended for ceremonial dinners. The walls are decorated with unique tapestries, woven by Russian craftsmen in Petersburg in the first half of the XVIII century, and reproduce the scenes of the "Indian tapestries", received as a gift by Peter I during his visit to France, in 1717. The table in the center of the room is set with items of the Everyday service, made at the Imperial Porcelain Factory, in the late XVIII-early XIX centuries.

Dishes and table linen were stored in the Tablecloth Pantry (Tafeldekerskaya), where meals would get for serving through a distribution window from the Kitchen, equipped with Russian oven and stoves, with extractor tents for drawing out of the fumes. Unique kitchen utensils of the XVIII-XIX centuries are presented here. Specifically here, famous chefs prepared exquisite dishes for the tsar's table. And in the neighboring Coffee Pantry (Kofishenskaya), where you can admire a collection of antique, samovars, tea, coffee and hot chocolate were prepared.

Despite the fact, that the buildings of the complex were built at different times, stylistically they constitute a uniform ensemble with "Monplaisir" palace. The Bathhouse block is a unique museum, that offers visitors a rare opportunity to get acquainted with everyday aspect of the imperial court's life.